New Flag of Europe

New European Union Flag

The Flag of Europe, or European Flag is an official symbol of two separate organizations—the Council of Europe (CoE) and the European Union (EU). When representing the latter, it is also known as the Flag of the European Union. It consists of a circle of twelve five-pointed yellow (gold) stars on a blue (azure) field.

The flag was designed in 1955, and officially launched later that year by the Council of Europe as a symbol for the whole of Europe. The Council of Europe urged it to be adopted by other European organisations, and in 1985 the European Communities (EC) adopted it.

But, that was then – Now the New Flag is more inclusive and “friendlier”

Old Flag of Europe
Old Flag of Europe
New EU Flag
New EU Flag


Article Submitted by:

Secrete Cyber Squirrel

Read more about #SecreteCyberSquirrel on the Authors Bio Page


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *